Welcome to The News, were we discuss the new releases this month that we’re most excited about! Let’s get to it!

Lila

25494343Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (March 8, 2016)

This is probably my #1 most anticipated March release. It’s been a long time in the making, but we’re finally getting a new series in The Shadowhunter ChroniclesLady Midnight is the first book in The Dark Artifices, the sequel series to The Mortal Instruments, and follows Emma Carstairs and the Blackthorn family. We’ve been getting a ton of hints and clues from Cassie and finally the finished work will be released!

Into The Dim by Janet V. Taylor (March 1, 2016)

This is being pitched as the YA Outlander, and while I haven’t read Outlander (yet), even I know that means it’s bound to be good! In this book, Hope, our MC, travels back in time to save her mother, who is lost in time. Sounds fun!

24934065.jpgRebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton (March 8, 2016)

This is supposed to be YA meets Western meets the Midle East. Djinn, handsome strangers, and spunky female gunslingers! This novel sounds s incredible and I’ve hear nothing but good things about it!

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski (March 29, 2016)

Probably my second most anticipated release of the month! We left our MCs, Kestrel and Arin at such heart-wrenching cliffhangers. I need the conclusion–now.

9780062412362.jpgBurning Glass by Kathryn Purdie (March 1, 2016)

I’ve heard mixed reviews about this one, so I’m cautious. Even still, the premise intrigues me. It’s about a girl who can sense other’s emotions and the power struggle that ensues when people try to control her.

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro (March 1, 2016)

I adore Sherlock Holmes so of course I want to read this modern day retelling of sorts–especially as Sherlock is now a girl, Charlotte! This looks all sorts of good!

23203106Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke (March 22, 2016)

I’ll be honest: I don’t know much about what this book is about. But it has a really pretty cover and it’s been getting great reviews so…

A Tyranny of Petticoats by Various, Edited by Jessica Spotswood (March 8, 2016)

Yes for more stories about kickass female protagonists! Just, yaaaaaassss!

24481697Map of Fates by Maggie Hall (March 8, 2016)

I loved The Conspiracy of Us. It was fun, it was action packed, it was romantic, it was thrilling! It was just amazing and I’ve been waiting for the sequel since early last year. Plus, Maggie’s a sweetheart and of course I want to support her.

Seven Black Diamonds by Melissa Marr

I wasn’t a huge fan of Marr’s other works, but this one has me intrigued. It involves fairies and celebrities and sleeper terrorist cells. Color me interested.

Claire

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (March 8, 2016)

I agree with Lila on this one– Lady Midnight was definitely my most anticipated March release. So much so that I finished it within days of getting it! Characters from her other Shadowhunters novels make appearances in Lady Midnight, but having read her other books isn’t necessary to enjoy this fantastic start to a new series.

The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters (March 8, 2016)

I have heard great things about Cat Winters, but haven’t actually read anything by her. I’m planning on changing that this month with The Steep and Thorny Way, the story of a biracial girl living in 1920s Oregon who seeks the help of her father’s ghost in unraveling the truth behind his death.

22020598On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis (March 8, 2016)

Earth is going to be destroyed by a comet, and one hope for
survival depends on getting a spot aboard a spaceship destined to find a home on a new planet. Space is limited, and spots are afforded to those who are deemed useful to the mission. So where does this leave Denise, an autistic, biracial girl looking after her sister and drug-addicted mother? I plan on reading this soon to find out.

Leave a Reply

