What books have made a difference in your life?
What books have ignited your passion for reading?

Hello everyone and welcome to the first post of a 10-part series I’m calling Igniting the Passion. I got the idea for this series as I was brainstorming posts for Book Conversion. I really wanted to highlight books that have had a significant impact on my life, books that made me who I am today. But I’ve read hundreds of books–which ones haven’t impacted me in one form or the other? The longer I thought about it the more I began to realize that although every book I’ve read has left it’s imprint on me (no matter how small) I could point to certain times in my past when reading a particular book or author changed the trajectory of my life. This series is about those books.

When I was very little, my mom would read to my brother and me before we went to sleep. Although my brother is no bookworm, I credit my mom for first instilling me with a love for reading. On evenings when she got home from work and days that she had off, reading became a favorite pastime of ours–something we could do together. Our favorite read was always Henry and Mudge, written by Cynthia Rylant and illustrated by Suçie Stevenson.

As a toddler I was obsessed with exactly two things: butterflies and dogs. Naturally, any book/movie/TV show I liked had to incorporate one of these. The Henry and Mudge books followed a young boy named Henry and his massive, dopey, completely lovable dog and therefore met my criteria. I think my mom just really liked the illustrations of Mudge.

If the books had some moral lesson, I can’t remember it. What I do remember is sitting on my mom’s lap, following along with the story as I sounded out the letters and learned to read. Of all the books I read during my early childhood, these are the most vivid.

Who was the first person to introduce you to reading? What books did you use while learning how to read?

4 thoughts on “Claire | Igniting the Passion pt.1: Henry and Mudge

Leave a Reply

