Welcome to The News, were we discuss the new releases this month that we’re most excited about! Let’s get to it!

Lila

9780062422583.jpgThe Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye (May 17, 2016)

This one looks so good that I couldn’t help but preorder it from Audible! With it’s magical competition and Russian setting, it’s giving me vibes of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern meets The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bradugo!

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (May 3, 2016)

How could I not have this much anticipated sequel by one of my faves, Miss Sarah J. Maas, on here? I can’t wait to see what happens to Feyre and Tamlin (and, ugh, I guess Rhysand too) next!

17838528The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson (May 3, 2016)

This looks like a cute little summer contemporary! I’ve never read a Morgan Matson before, but this seems like a great place to start!

The Last Star by Rick Yancey (May 24, 2016)

So The Infinite Sea left me a little shaky, but I loved The 5th Wave so much I just can’t not finish the series! I’e invested so uch in this series that I just have to see if it pays off! Plus I have soooo many unanswered questions…

25028285The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood (May 3, 2016)

I’m a physics major so when I heard that this magical realism book mentions quantum mechanics (one of my scientific buzzwords), I was all in. That’s really all I need to know!

Ruined by Amy Tintera (May 3, 2016)

I don’t know much about this one but the cover and summary are really intriguing. I wasn’t a fan of Tintera’s Reboot trilogy, but I’m willing to give her a second chance in a different genre. So we’ll see how it goes…

Claire

17927395A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (May 3rd, 2016)

Oh man oh man oh man. I have had this ebook preordered for months! This is easily my most anticipated novel of the year. Because I foolishly sought out spoilers, I have had same major plot points spoiled for myself, but that has only made me even more desperate to get my hands on this book! May 3rd cannot come soon enough! (Also, Lila: don’t hate me, but I love Rhysand. If I find the time, I will make a Rhysand Defense Post before the release of the new book!)

The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey (May 24th, 2016)

I’m going to wait for the reviews to come in for this one. While I absolutely loved The 5th Wave, I was really unimpressed with The Infinite Sea. (How many times can you use the phrase “undulating waves” in one book?!) I’m hoping that The Infinite Sea was just suffering from middle-26192915book-syndrome and this next installment will be as great as the first!


Outrun the Moon
by Stacey Lee (May 24th, 2016)

In early 1900s San Francisco, an impoverished Chinese girl named Mercy Wong uses her wits to get into an elite girl’s school in attempt to advance her place in society. When an earth-shattering quake hits, life in San Francisco will never be the same. I’ve heard great things about this book (Sabaa Tahir gave it 5 stars) and can’t wait to get my hands on it!

Leave a Reply

