Happy Woman Writer Crush Wednesday! Sorry this post is a little late in getting out, but at least it’s still Wednesday! Today I’m giving a shout out to Suzanne Collins, author of The Hunger Games series.

TheHungerGames insta

There’s no question that Suzanne Collins has had a huge impact in YA and pop culture in general. Katniss may not have been the first kick-ass heroine in a YA novel, but her fame gave rise to the trend of YA books featuring physically strong girls taking control of their narratives–not to mention the increase in dystopian literature that followed in The Hunger Games‘s wake. Additionally, The Hunger Games was able to transcend the stereotype that YA is only for girls by drawing hordes of male moviegoers and introducing new readers to the genre. (This is a stereotype, by the way, I completely disagree with. I am very adamantly against the notion that books are a gendered product–I think people of all ages and sexes stand to benefit a lot from reading YA. Unfortunately, there is definitely a stigma surrounded YA which I believe is largely due to the fact that things that interest teenage girls are belittled. Alas, this is a topic best suited to a longer post.)

On a personal note: while I’ve always been an avid reader, my reading noticeably declined for a while in high school. Part of this was that I had a long commute to and from school, so by the time I got home and finished homework I was usually exhausted. The Hunger Games is one of the series that got me back into reading. I started following book blogs on Tumblr and reading fanfiction, and by the end of high school I was more engaged in the book reading community than ever before. For that, I largely have The Hunger Games and Suzanne Collins to thank.

I said this last week about Susan Ee (lol just realized the name similarity) as well, but I hope Suzanne Collins writes more soon! Panem was such a wonderfully crafted world, I’d love to see what else is in Collins’s head!

Leave a Reply

