Hey guys!!! Lila here!

So in my life outside of blogging (Oh, heck. Who am I kidding. Do I really have a life outside of blogging?!), one of my favorite hobbies is the infamous Netflix Binge. I love a good (good) TV show. Now, if you know me, you’ll know that my tastes run toward the fantastical. It’s the same with TV shows for me. My favorite TV genre is probably sci fi (as you’ll see with my top 3 shows), then dramas. Anyhoo. These are some of my favorite shows that I think you’ll enjoy watching, especially if you share my taste in books.

The 100 (The CW, Netflix)

My #1 main show!!! My fangirl heart’s one true love!!! If you don’t know by now, The 100 is my top show. The basic premise is that in the distant future, Earth has been ravaged by nuclear war and all of the humans now live in space, on The Ark. 100 juvenile delinquents are sent down to Earth as a testing group to see if Earth is inhabitable again. They find themselves in a strange new world where life threatening challenges are a daily thing and they might not be as alone as they thought. Not only is this a brilliant and addictive show, it is racially and sexually diverse, features women in many positions of power, and showcases morally gray and philosophical plotlines.

Fringe (Fox, Netflix, Amazon Prime)

This show ended years ago, but remains one of my all time favorites. I recently got my boyfriend, who is also a physics major, absolutely obsessed with Fringe, so we’ve been rewatching it! This show is part of where my love for science, in particular physics, comes from. The show (which has plotlines derived from real, cutting edge science) follows FBI agent Oliva Dunham, head of the Fringe Division, which handles all things weird and otherworldly, consultant Peter Bishop, and Peter’s brilliant, slightly mad father, Dr. Walter Bishop. Together they investigate cases that involve all things science-y. The incredible thing is that the show uses real life science as a basis and some of the show’s predictions of where science was headed have come to pass.

Sense8 (Netflix)

Coming in third place for my all time favorite TV show is Sense8! Agh! How do I even begin to explain this one? Eight individuals of varying lives and talents, in various countries, find themselves inextricably linked to one another. That’s all I can say because from there it gets pretty wild! Just watch it!!! This show is also filled with philosophy and diversity ad it’s just so amazing. Plus, #kalagang5ever

Reign (The CW, Netflix)

Another CW show that is pretty good! This show follows the fictional story of real life queen, Mary Queen of Scots. Mary travels to France, to be wed to Prince Francis there, but when she and her loyal ladies in waiting arrive at the French court, they find much more awaiting them. Intrigue and scandal abound, of course! While it does seem a bit silly, from what I know, the core storyline does accurately follow Mary’s life story. It’s just a fun, loose historical drama that I can’t help but get sucked into.

Scandal (ABC, Netflix)

This one I watch on and off. I’ve seen half of the first season and parts of the other seasons, but I always find myself coming back to Scandal. Scandal tells the story of Washington, D.C.’s top political “fixer,” Olivia Pope, an ex White House employee who now works cleaning up political scandals. However, Olivia soon finds that she herself may be at the center of more than a few scandals! It’s over-the-top, I know, but it just so addicting! I can’t stop watching!

Jessica Jones (Netflix)

Okay, so I’ve only seen the first episode, but from what I’ve seen, Jessica Jones has got me hooked. The show follows Jessica Jones, a private detector with PTSD, an alcohol problem, and a dark, mysterious past, who just happens to also have superhuman powers. Because I’ve only seen the first episode, I don’t really know much past that beyond that but I think I’ll really like the show.

Leave a Reply

