Weekend Rewind | June 21, 2016

What We’ve Been Reading

Claire

The good thing about being stuck in a car with family for hours on end? So much time to do nothing but read.

Lila

I was able to finish Batgirl Vol. 1: The Batgirl of Burnside, but unfortunately I was in the middle of reading The Bronze Horseman when I had to return it to the library and get on the waiting list. *sigh*

What We’re Currently Reading

Claire

Lila

17927395

Holy smokes! This book is so great! I love how Maas somehow manages to constantly top herself. Just when you think she’s written her best book, she goes and writes an even better one, if you can believe that!

What We’ve Been Blogging

Claire

Aaat laaaaaaast I’ve actually reviewed something! If you’re a fan of high fantasy or looking for diversity in your fiction, check out my review of The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin. Also, Lila and I sorted characters from the Throne of Glass series into Hogwarts Houses.

Lila

rfg

It was actually a pretty busy week over on The Bookkeeper’s Secrets! I celebrated my 6 month blogaversary as well as reaching over 400 followers over on The Bookkeeper’s Secrets! I also made a travel guide for the Night Court from A Court of Mist and Fury and discussed talking to teens through literature. In addition, reviewed Gotham Academy Vol. 1: Welcome to Gotham Academy and Batgirl Vol. 1: The Batgirl of Burnside.

What We’ve Been Liking

Claire

FINDING DORY FINDING DORY FINDING DORY! I’ve been waiting for this sequel for four years and it is EVERYTHING I COULD HAVE WANTED AND MORE. Baby Dory is the absolute sweetest and heart-wrenchingly cutest thing I have witnessed. Also, the animated short before the movie was soooooooo cute and well done. Quite possibly my favorite Pixar short ever.

Lila

dribbb

So I just discovered the show Mr. Robot and I’m really enjoying it! I’ve only seen half of the first episode, but call it love at first sight! Especially as someone in the STEM fields who lives with people who do what Elliot, the main character, does for a living, I found it pretty relatable (or, as relatable as a dramatic rendering can be)!

In Other News

Claire

“I start work Monday! (AHHH internally I am panicking.) I’m three parts nervous and one part really excited to be starting work again. I’m not quite sure what I’m going to be doing, but last fall I really enjoyed working with the company.” -Claire from Saturday, before forgetting about publishing this post. Work has started and so far it’s really great! It was much easier to slip back into the swing of things than I expected.

Lila

So apparently the replacement power cord I need for my computer is on back order until August, which is really incredibly frustrating as that means I’ll have limited access to Microsoft Word and PowerPoint and no access to my image editing softwares. So my other bookish edits blog, Inspired By Books, will suffer.

http-%2F%2Fmashable.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2013%2F06%2FGlee

Leave a comment