Hello, and happy Woman Writer Crush Wednesday! Today I’m celebrating one of my all-time favorite authors, Laini Taylor.

LainiTaylor

Laini Taylor is the author of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, a series that makes my heart hurt in the best way possible if I think about it too long. In my opinion, Laini Taylor is the Queen of purple prose–so often when I read a book with flowery writing I end up looking at an oddly phrased metaphor and want to shout “WHAT DOES IT MEAN?!” at the author. Is it a pretty turn of a phrase? Sure. Does it mean anything beyond that? Usually, no. With Laini Taylor’s writing, not only is it poetic and lovely but everything is filled with emotion and meaning. Her books are absolutely addicting, and had me hooked from line one:

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love.

It did not end well.

How can you read that and not be compelled to finish the book immediately?! Obviously, that’s exactly what I did. To read more about Daughter of Smoke & Bone, click here! I highly encourage you to read it, this is a story that stayed with me long after I turned the last page.

Lucky for us, she is coming out with a new book, Strange the Dreamer, this year!

 

Leave a Reply

