The News | June and July 2016

Welcome to The News, were we discuss the new releases this month that we’re most excited about! Let’s get to it!

Lila

9780062391742My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows (June 7, 2016)

This story looks positively hysterical! Plus, it’s being marketed as “for fans of The Princess Bride,” which is one of my all time favorite movies! I’ve heard good things about this one so far too, so I’m really looking forward to getting my hands on it!

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (July 5, 2016)9780062380852

I’ve never read a Schwab book before, so I’m looking forward to this one, which I’ve pre-ordered. It sounds like another story with morally grey protagonists, which we all know is the kind of story Schwab excels at writing. I can’t wait to see what the hubbub about Schwab’s writing is about and judge for myself!

29069989Harry Potter And The Cursed Child by Jack Thorne

So…A lot of people are under the impression that this is entirely written by J.K. Rowling. To clear it up, it’s not. This is a play written by Jack Thorne and based on a new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany. And from what I’ve heard (which is a lot), I’m now very wary of this play. But I’ll give it a chance and regardless of whether it’s technically “good” or “bad,” I’m sure I’ll have fun with it…

Claire

And I Darken by Kiersten White (June 28th, 2016)AndIDarken

This is the story of Lada, a vicious princess in the Ottoman Empire. Inspired by stories of Vlad the Impaler, I cannot wait read this gritty book and learn more about about Lada!

ThisSavageSongThis Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (July 5, 2016)

I’ve heard mixed reviews about this one, but the premise sounds right up my alley: a city overrun with monsters. Also, this is from the same author who wrote Vicious (which I adored) and A Darker Shade of Magic. (I didn’t even realize this at first because those books are penned under “V.E. Schwab”, but I double checked and it’s definitely the same person.) If this is anything like her other books, I’m sure I’ll be hooked!

Saga, Vol. 6 by Brian K Vaughan and illustrations by Fiona StaplesSagaVol6

I AM TOO EXCITED FOR THIS ONE. The last volume ended in such a cliffhanger and I NEED MY FAVORITE SPACE FAMILY BACK TOGETHER AGAIN IN ONE PIECE. Please and thank you.

In other news, why don’t more books get released in the summer?! Now is when I actually have free time to read!

One thought on “The News | June and July 2016

Leave a Reply

