5 stars

Most people can motivate themselves to do things simply by knowing that those things need to be done. But not me. For me, motivation is this horrible, scary game where I try to make myself do something while I actively avoid doing it. If I win, I have to do something I don’t want to. If I lose, I’m one step closer to ruining my entire life. And I never know whether I’m going to win or lose until the last second.

I’m always surprised when I lose.

Oof, this book was like a brutally honest (yet also validating) reflection at times. Brosh’s writing is hilariously self-aware and self-deprecating as she tells anecdotes about her struggles with depression, growing up, and being a functioning adult. Punctuating her reminiscences are simply stylized illustrations that depict Brosh as a pink-dressed somewhat amorphous blob with a yellow triangle ponytail. These comics both add to the hilarity of already funny stories and inject humor to deeper moments.

Also, if you are a dog person you will LOVE this book. I was doubled over in tears gasping for breath during Brosh’s descriptions of the Simple Dog and Helper Dog, dysfunctional and infinitely lovable.

dog

2 thoughts on “Claire’s Reviews: Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Leave a Reply

